The County of Frontenac is an upper-tier municipality located in eastern Ontario and is comprised of four local municipalities, the Townships of North Frontenac, Central Frontenac, South Frontenac and Frontenac Islands.

We are governed by an indirectly elected body comprised of eight councillors. They are the mayors of each of the four local municipalities and one additional councillor from each of the four local municipalities, appointed by the local municipality. The seat of the county is located in the City of Kingston, which is politically separated from us.

The county administers and operates a variety of services to meet the municipal needs of those who live, work and play here. A number of committees and boards aid in guiding the governance and administration of the county.

Explore the county's Civic Web Portal for more information on how we are governed.